Vexx – Self Titled LP


Only 2 left in stock

SKU: #GRAZER03 Categories: , , , Tags: , , , ,


Hailing from Olympia, Washington, VEXX are a true anomaly. These 8 tracks combine unhinged, Penelope Houston-style vocals with the meth-driven guitar solos of the ZERO BOYS and highly syncopated rhythms to devastating impact. Songs like “Falling Down” and “Spirit/Contraint” blaze past with their breakneck tempos, yet contain enough pop sensibility to yield repeated plays.

While VEXX sound more small-town Midwest than gloomy Northwest, they still pay occasional homage to the ominous sounds of the WIPERS on standout track “Ocean Shores” – showing they understand their geographical antecedents better than most. Elsewhere, “Stress” and “Roky, Take me Home” recall the thuggish menace of Hermosa Beach groups, with vocals that alternate between a grumble and a roar.


1) Stress (listen)
2) Clairvoyant (listen)
3) Falling Down
4) Strength
5) Don’t Talk About It
6) Spirit/Constraint
7) Ocean Shores
8) Roky, Take Me Home (listen)

Additional information

Weight 1 lbs
Dimensions 12 × 12 × 1 in